Home > Uncategorized > 1000 Awful Things: #989 Holding The Door Open for Someone

1000 Awful Things: #989 Holding The Door Open for Someone

holding_door

OK, I know what you are thinking. No, I am not a completely inconsiderate ass-hat, despite what this blog implies — especially this post.

What I am, however, is a hater. In this particular example, I hate awkward situations. One of these awful awkward situations stems from the implied courtesy that is required by all citizens of the Earth to hold the door open for the person behind.

Imagine the situation where you are approaching a door and you know someone is behind you, but you are not positive how far. You do not turn around to look back because this its obvious your sizing up the situation.

Now imagine you get to said door with all intents on holding the door so that the person behind can easily glide on through. Then the worst happens. You turn around only to see that the lurker behind is at such a distance where letting the door go says “I have evaluated this situation and I am too important to wait for you to trek yourself to me” but holding the door presents the “I have gotten myself in way over my head here. If you do not hurry and get here I just might eat your face” assumption.

Personally, my rule of thumb is if the person behind you does not get to the door by the time you are able to pry that sucker open, then all courtesy is off. Either way this situation just sucks.

Awful.

image courtesy of: here

  1. H
    November 9, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    You’re an asshole, simple as that ;). At least no one will ever confuse you with a Southern Gentleman, haha.

  2. January 11, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    I, another southerner (sort of… my fam moved from NYC before I was born), think this at least once a week. The worst is when you DO hold the door for someone and they don’t say “thank you.” Happens in NYC all the time.

    I’m def gonna have to check out more of these posts on Awful Things.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

